Spring Colors and Shoe Tying…

20090426-dsc_0055

Pear Blossoms

20090426-dsc_00201

Tulips and Daffodils

20090426-dsc_0034

I just love these colors.  Isn’t God amazing?

20090426-dsc_0013

Resting after church on Sunday.

20090426-dsc_0019

Eli never holds still for this long but for some reason was really involved in this book.  He has been playing so many new little games around the house you can just “see” him growing up, his brain synapses firing around like crazy.  He also is into an imitation stage, where he tries to copy what you are doing.  It’s very cute to watch.  You lay down on a couch, he will lay down on a couch.  You fold your arms, he will do the same.

I have seven weeks of school left and eight weeks before my due date.  I can’t believe it’s gone by this fast.  I am so looking forward to the summer and just being together as a new family for a couple months.  I am trying not to have any expectations of actually going on any vacations, although it would be nice to go camping at least once.  One expectation for the summer is to put away a lot of produce, we really missed it this year.  My other expectation is to enjoy my brother’s wedding, and all the family and friends that come with it.

At school I am getting ready to put eggs in my incubator next week.  Things have fallen into place as far as actually getting quality eggs, finding a home for them afterward, and stuff like that.  I wasn’t going to do it this year because it wasn’t going to be easy enough, but things just fell into place.  I am excited because it’s one of my favorite projects. 

In other school news I had to have a student tie my shoes for me the other day, so it’s slip ons from now on!  I’ve tied so many shoes, I deserve a break.  The belly just got to the point that shoe tying is not an option anymore.  I love my work so much – I wouldn’t have it any other way.  I love to be occupied at this point in my pregnancy, because it’s too easy to become consumed with what’s not going to happen for two more months. 

Life is getting a bit busier though.  There are a lot of end of the year field trips and midwife appointments every two weeks now.  I also started going to a new Bible study.  Good busy, but busy nonetheless.  I’m laughing to myself, though, because busy to our family means something totally different from the mainstream.  The busiest thing we did today was help plant some new raspberry stalks in the backyard, and Paul and Bill did all the work.  Eli got out his little shovel and imitated them, and I sat in the grass.  Now the house is silent, except for the pattering of rain on our roof.  I’m going to eat some strawberries now. 

April Rain Song
 
 
  Let the rain kiss you
Let the rain beat upon your head with silver liquid drops
Let the rain sing you a lullaby
The rain makes still pools on the sidewalk
The rain makes running pools in the gutter
The rain plays a little sleep song on our roof at night
And I love the rain.

Langston Hughes

(my students memorized this poem way back in January, but it’s more fitting now)

Leave a Reply

