How to make a green smoothie…

This is my version of a green smoothie.  You can find countless versions on youtube.  When Eli started eating table foods I realized the value of a smoothie.  I was able to hide many different vegetables in a smoothie without questioning from a picky baby/toddler. 

I’ve always liked smoothies, but only recently did I decide to hide vegis in my own smoothies!    This is the secret:  you can put an amazing amount of greens in a smoothie and not even taste them.  It’s not that I don’t like my spinach, it’s just that it’s not usually my go to quick snack food.  Often in the morning I will make a smoothie for all of us before I leave the house.  Today I made them when Eli got up from nap.  Eli loves them, Paul loves them, I love them:  it’s a win, win, win.

dsc_0006

First, put a frozen banana in the blender. 

dsc_0009

Next put 1 cup frozen blueberries and a lot of frozen spinach in.  You may want to start out with less spinach and work up from there.  Both the blueberries and the spinach I got at Costco.  They sell a VERY large bag of spinach for about three dollars.  I just take out what I think I will use fresh and freeze the rest to use for smoothies.

dsc_0010

Fill with a good amount of orange juice.  You could also use a different kind of juice but OJ is my favorite.

dsc_0011

And blend!  Ours turns out to be more of a “brown” smoothie because of the blueberries.  Ignore the color, if you were to omit the blueberries, which also tastes just great, the color would be bright green.

dsc_0012

This will make one sippy cup full …

dsc_0015

and two adult size smoothies.  Hope you enjoy these as much as we do.

2 responses to “How to make a green smoothie…

  1. Looks good. We have some soy protein powder that we add to smoothies. It adds that punch of protein that makes you feel like a fantastic parent…. as if getting your child to eat that much spinach doesn’t make you feel good enough.

  2. I think this is agreat idea. My kids love smoothies so I will try and sneak some spinach in there, soon. I ‘ll just have to put it in a non see through cup, though!

Leave a Reply

