A Neti Pot user and proud of it…

Not a pot user, but we’ll get to that later.

After a week of being sick I’ve finally given in and called this week a wash!  There is only so much positive thinking you can do – and it won’t get you anywhere.  You can wake up in the morning and think, “Just go to work, you’ll feel better once you get there.”  Sometimes those little viruses are just plain old stronger than you are.  Sooner or later you will end up in bed, sleeping for hours on end, thinking about all the ways you can be healthier so that this NEVER happens to you again.  Eat your sprouts, take your vitamins, get more sleep.  These are things we all vow to do next time. 

So on Monday I will go to work and start anew, grieve for a week that was lost and dig out from under the piles of tests and papers and report cards that are due way too soon.  And I’ll be really thankful that I am once again healthy. 

In my small town we don’t have many of the comforts of the big city.  We can’t just run down to Wild Oats and get more Throat Coat tea and Echinaca and Emergen-C.  I am reminded not why I need to have these things stockpiled.  One thing that we DO have is a very good doctor.  He’s not a naturopath, but he’s not your typical doctor either.  He’s a socks and sandals wearing type.  He gave me some elderberry syrup that – combined with some other things – has me actually feeling much better today. 

OK – I don’t think I have ever blogged about this before.  I have a confession to make.  I use a neti pot.  Nasal irrigation was first suggested to me in highschool when I saw a ENT for chronic sinus infections.  I’ve only been using the Neti Pot for about 6 years.  A Neti Pot is a form of nasal irrigation that works really well for most people.  Don’t laugh – it’s way less expesive than having repeated sinus problems, not to mention way more healthy than repeated cycles of antibiotics.  This isn’t only for people with problems, it can shorten the duration of a cold and help with dust and allergies.  Some people use the Neti Pot every day, but I only use mine if I am sick or feel like I am getting sick.  There – I’m out of the closet – I do weird things to my nose and I’m not ashamed.  Check out this youtube video if you are really interested.  If you watch this video and think that there is no way in tarnation you would ever do that, let me just say this:  there are a lot of things you think you will never do until you have to.  Period.

So, with all this being sick I was able to catch up on Lost, Andy Griffith, Monk and a few others on the internet.  I don’t usually get to do this.  This morning I was watching GMA (something I won’t be able to do for much longer) and I saw something that made me really mad.  It has to do with the octuplets that were born recently.  When it came out that the mother had already had six previous children the news anchors started criticizing the mother for making an irresponsible choice.  Although the mother had eight implanted she never expected all eight of them to take, and when presented with the option of selective abortion, she decided not to kill her unborn babies, resulting in a total of 14 children.

My anger stems from this:  no matter what you think about in vitro practices, aren’t people all about a woman’s right to choose what she wants these days?  All I ever hear is that it’s a woman’s right to choose, yet when someone makes what they feel is an irresponsible choice, they are angry.  Leave the poor woman alone, she’s dealing with eight babies, she doesn’t need to deal with media critics as well.  We don’t need to know the reason’s behind why this woman decided to have more children, and no one has the right to tell her how many is enough.  I don’t believe in a woman’s right to choose to kill her unborn baby, but if you say you support a woman’s right to choose, you can’t be selective about which choices she is qualified to make.  OK, I’ve obviously had too much time to think about this.  There are many things that anger me, and if I watched the news every day I would probably spend all my time being angry.  I’m so glad I don’t.

Well, I’ll leave it at that for today.  If you’ve made it this far I am surprised because this post has been all about being sick and angry.  I hope it wasn’t too much of  a downer.  I’m going to head back to bed for now.  Stay healthy everyone…

2 responses to “A Neti Pot user and proud of it…

  1. I am glad you found a god dr. who can help you without antibiotics. I’ve heard a lot about the Neti Pot and am so happy you admitted to using one. It is one of those things I only think I should do when I am really sick and there is no way to get one. Like other homeopathic remedies, I should really keep them on hand. But who thinks of such things when you are well? Hope you are better soon!

Leave a Reply

