It’s apple cider time again…

Did you know that one of the most clicked on posts I have ever done is this one from last year?  It’s shocking to me that people can type “how to make apple cider” into google and get my blog.  Apparently, making apple cider is HOT right now.  Anyways, it is in our part of the country.

According to one of my coworkers – it’s every man’s dream to have a cider press.  If the twelve gallons we’ve made so far this season are any indicator then she’s right.  Yes, that is a garbage can full of apples (it’s clean).

This will be strained and heated to 160 degrees before we freeze it (alot of it will go in our tummies before that though).

I love this time of year because of all the produce that we put away and eat.  Have you ever had a grilled cheese and heirloom tomato sandwich?  You haven’t lived until you’ve tried it!

Also, I did try the recipe from “Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day”.  I’m hooked.  The idea is that you make a large batch of high moisture dough that you keep in your fridge.  There’s no kneading involved and it really is very easy.  I made a hard, crusty loaf the first day and today I tried cinnamon raisin bread.  Both turned out very well with minimal effort on my part.

Paul asked me today if we could can some apple cobbler filling (he can’t stand to see a fruit go to waste).  Instead – we cut up the apples, added sugar, cinnamon, cornstarch and lemon juice (using my standard cobbler recipe from the Best Recipes cookbook) threw it all in a ziplock bag and froze it.  We made four large cobblers worth.  What do you think?  Will it work?  There’s no reason it shan’t! 

Are you hungry yet?

3 responses to “It’s apple cider time again…

  1. You are making me thirsty, LOL.

    I bet Grandpa would be interested in hearing about this and even seeing it. He’d like it–both the process and the product.

  2. What type of flour are you using for the Artisan bread? I tried their recipe for whole wheat sandwich bread and it didn’t rise very well.

  3. Jessica,
    I used plain unbleached white flour. I would try using a little whole wheat flour at a time – gradually upping the ratio until you get what you want.

Leave a Reply

