Do it yourself : Yogurt

With a little planning you can have homemade yogurt!!!  Why?  Because it’s cheaper.  Also, I couldn’t find whole milk yogurt (best for toddlers) around here for under three dollars – rather than making a trip to a specialty store – I just decided to make my own.  This probably ends up being about 1$ per quart.  I usually start this process after dinner while I am cleaning up the kitchen.

Start with four cups fresh milk.  I use whole milk because it’s for Eli, but you can use whatever you want.

Scald the milk.  Heat it up until it has bubbles around the edges and is starting to form a skin on top.  Do not boil it.

While you are scalding the milk fill your tea kettle and boil some water.  You will also need a tall thermos like this.  Make sure it will hold a quart.  Fill the thermos up with boiling water and screw the cap on.  Don’t pour the water out until it’s time to put the milk it.  This is to heat up the thermos so that you will have a constant temperature to incubate the yogurt bacteria.

Now, once you are done scalding the milk let it cool down to between 105 and 110 degrees.  Go watch a little TV or wash the dishes.

Once you milk has cooled you will need about 1/4 cup of storebought yogurt.  I found these individual ones at Grocery Outlet (six for 1$).  I put them in the freezer and just take one out when I need to make yogurt. You could also just buy a quart of yogurt and freeze it in 1/4 cup portions.  I’ve heard you can also use powdered yogurt starter.  It is more expensive. 

Put the store bought yogurt into your milk and whisk it up a little until it’s incorporated.  Then pour the hot water out of your thermos and pour the milk-yogurt mixture in.  Then go to bed.  My recipe says to let the yogurt incubate for 4-6 hours.  I let mine go all night.  I don’t know if that’s unhealthy or not.  I just know that the longer you let it incubate the thicker and more sour it will be.

A – LA – PEANUT BUTTER SANDWICHES!

Put the yogurt in the container of your choice.  We use a leftover yogurt container from the store.  This yogurt will be more runny than store bought yogurt (which contains pectin).  You WILL need to add sugar or honey to the yogurt to sweeten it.  It’s also great with fresh berries and granola.

We use the yogurt in Eli’s breakfast smoothies.  Yes that’s a cookie he is eating for breakfast.

Happy yogurting!!

5 responses to “Do it yourself : Yogurt

  1. my friends make yogurt at home because the longer incubation time takes away the lactos in milk. They cure theirs for 24 hours, use a real yogurt maker and buy the starter. I had no idea you could replicate the process with stuff we already have. Thanks!

  2. Wow, that’s easier than I thought it would be. Do you know if you could use some of your homemade yogurt for the starter for the next batch? Thanks, too, for the link to the breakfast cookie recipe.

  3. Hey! What do you mean by “fresh milk.” Do you mean like directly from a farm, or just some new milk from the store?

  4. Just milk from the store. That’s what my recipe book said.
    Yes, you can use starter from the homemade for the next batch – BUT – You do need to use store bought starter every once in a while to freshen it up (that’s what my recipe says).

  5. Annie, you never ever cease to amaze me at how intelligently frugal and creative you are!!! I never would have thought a person could make their own yogurt!

Leave a Reply

