Tunnel Falls

On Monday Paul and I hiked 12 miles.  We didn’t intend to go that far, but as is the case with many things involving Paul – we got carried away.  I haven’t hiked that far since Eli was born.

This is not a hike for the faint of heart, many portions of the hike are near steep cliffs.  Paul kept pushing me to go just a little farther and it was worth it in the end.

Tunnel Falls is beautiful.  It is literally a waterfall with a tunnel behind it.  The above pic is me preparing to walk through the tunnel / behind the waterfall.  The spray from the waterfall feels quite good after hiking all that way.  Eli did great, he slept quite a bit and only got restless at the very end.  You can see I’m wearing my Ergo, which was wonderful.  Something else that’s nice when you are hiking with a baby on your back are trekking poles, which Paul bought me at a REI gear sale recently.  They really help me keep my balance when he is squirming around.

I reccommend this hike.  The Eagle Creek trail (the one that Tunnel Falls is on) is one of my favorite trails because it is somewhat flat with no real incline, yet it has beautiful scenery.  We saw four or five waterfalls before we got to Tunnel.  I have hiked this trail many times but have never gone this far in.  It does tend to be quite crowded in the summer though. 

One response to “Tunnel Falls

  1. Beautiful. You inspire me!

Leave a Reply

