Biblio “file”…

It seems that this time of year I can’t keep my nose out of a good book (or my hands off of the knitting needles – too bad I can’t multitask).  I love to read.  I can’t get enough.  Here’s what my nose is into right now:

 

First Meals by Anabel Karmel 

My son is finally starting to eat!  It’s a good thing too because I like to cook.  Karmel’s book has ton’s of recipes from baby to school age “family meals”.  The recipes look really yummy.  I can’t stand it when people feed their kids food that they wouldn’t eat themselves.  I was at the grocery store today contemplating buying baby crackers – until I looked at the ingredients.  It’s cheaper AND healthier to make it yourself.

 

Maryjanes Ideabook Cookbook Lifebook by Maryjane Butters

What can I say about this book?  What doesn’t it have?  Recipes, projects, camping advice, sewing and woodworking projects.  If you have even an ounce of creativity in your bones there will be something in this book you enjoy!  I have to say this, “I want chickens.”  Do you think our apartment complex will allow it?

2008 Children’s Writer’s and Illustrator’s Market

My favorite graduate work always included children’s literature.  I love learning about writing and publishing.  Maybe someday writing will be in the cards for me.  Now that I am not teaching I have the chance to actively pursue it.  Children’s writing is not lucrative and not for the faint of heart, but it’s something that is very interesting to me.

Lake Wobegon Days by Garrison Keillor

I’m a big fan of NPR’s A Prairie Home Companion (not the movie, the radio show).  Garrison Keillor’s humor and wit – I get it.  He cracks me up.  I’m only on the first few pages so I don’t have much else to say about it.

One response to “Biblio “file”…

  1. I love Garrison Keillor, too. I read Lake Wobegon Days this summer, very funny! What are you knitting these days? I ask, because I’m in the market for some cute baby hats in non-babyish colors. But I’m too cheap, I mean frugal, to pay $20 at a fancy kids boutique.

Leave a Reply

