Like father, like son?

“He’s like a little Paul.”

“He’s just like Annie when she was little.”

I guess there’s no getting around the fact that the older generation will compare your offspring to the baby version of you.  Hey, I fully reserve the right to do this when my kids have their own babies.  But to us our son is just Eli, “B”, Bubza or any of the other nicknames we call him.  He was born with a unique personality, and since we didn’t know ourselves when we were babies, our opportunity for comparison is slim. 

When we are out and about Eli is often happy, he is in his element, there are people to smile at and new things to smell and grab.  I often get the question, “Is he always this happy?”  Are people hoping the answer will be yes?  Is any baby really happy all the time?  And if he is happy, is it because of his disposition or because of good parenting, or both?  As much as I would like to take credit when things go well and blame his disposition when things are going south, I think it’s a bit of both.  A bit of luck and a bit of skill …. like poker. 

Will he share his father’s love of precipitation, art and nature?  Will he be a tender hearted homebody like mom?  Will he be a long haired, body piercing Jesus-freak?  Will he be bookish and sensitive?  Will he be a rock-climbing adrenaline junkie? 

Like a story unfolding before my eyes, I wait in anticipation for him to give me another clue.  I want to hold him loosely, careful not to label, so that he will have the freedom to be himself, loved by his Maker and his parents.

4 responses to “Like father, like son?

  1. I love your comments. And I have a theory that happy, contented kids are that way at least in part because they are secure with plenty of love as I’m sure he is getting.

    And with this attitude I imagine it will give him the freedom to continue–realizing of course that he is a human being who is not perfect.

    And from what I hear, after having more kids, you should get more insight in to what is personality, etc.

    Thanks for the posts so that we can be getting to know him as well as possible from a distance.

  2. I love your thoughts on this subject! I just heard the song, “Mary, did you know?” It is about this same thing. Mary had no way of knowing all that would come from her baby. Even though our babies are mere mortal, thinking of who they will be is fastinating. As Eli gets older you will see more deffinate characterics from you and Paul. Emma is at the age where she does things that are just like us. She saves her money like Jeff. She warms up slowly to people like me. But she is unique in her own way.

  3. I thought of something that I noticed in some of the earlier pictures of Elias. In some he seemed to have one eyebrow cocked up like his great-grandpa Smith does. Don’t know if he still does that, but it wouldn’t be surprising. I suspect he has bits and pieces of each of you as well as some from the grandparents and greatgrandparents–all put together in the unique individual that is Elias.

    And I guess you are starting to see some of who he is with more every day. And I guess he is learning so many new things now. And its great that you have the time to observe, guide and enjoy this–as well as sometimes being frustrated by some of his less perfect moments.

  4. Beautiful post, Annie!

Leave a Reply

