Help…

How do you teach a baby to eat baby food?  I thought it would be easy but it’s not proving to be.  Eli has been nursing practically nonstop lately so I know he needs the food, but he spits out everything I put in his mouth.  He actually gags on the squash.  I’ve tried rice cereal, pears, squash and bananas.  Anyone have any ideas?

4 responses to “Help…

  1. Have you tried mixing in expressed breastmilk with the rice cereal? He might take more to a familiar taste. Other than that, I think it’s just practice–for him. His tongue is used to getting food by pushing out. Now he has to learn to pull it back in order to swallow. If it’s too frustrating you could also just wait a couple more weeks and see if he’s more receptive then. Some people say that you should wait until baby shows interest in spoon feeding which I have no idea how you can really tell that–I guess if they stare at you eating with fascination? Also, my doctor really stresses that it’s important to only try one new food per week so that you can watch for any allergic reactions. Other doctors might feel differently but I think it’s kind of good advice. Wow, I didn’t mean to write such a long comment. You’re a great mom, Annie. I’m sure Eli will catch on quickly if you keep at it.

  2. How old is he? Maybe try sweet potatoes? You can wait as late as his first birthday if he’s not interested. And you can skip the rice cereal. Annabel Karmel has some neat baby food recipe books. I’ve mostly followed the Super Baby Food book and made my own stuff.

  3. Thanks guys! I think I’ve decided to hold off a little bit for now, since he obviously isn’t interested. I will keep trying, but I’m not going to push it. I did order the Super Baby Food book this week. I think it will be great, I’ve already noticed that he seems to prefer “real” food over the Gerber stuff.

  4. I had the same problem with Benton. He seemed to like it well enough, it just took him a while to figure out how to eat instead of taste and spit. I kept at it with a l;ittle rice cereal at the same time every day and one day, something just clicked. He’s loved food ever since. Also check out freshbaby.com for making your own baby food. Lots of good stuff.

Leave a Reply

