Back to school (or not)…

back-to-school.jpg

I walked outside this morning to a fresh wet rain and the sight of the neighbor boy trapsing off to school, complete with new backpack, shoes and haircut.  His happens to be a mowhawk.  I had almost let myself forget that most everyone will be starting school today, except for me.  I have been “going” to school since I was five, either learning or teaching.  I adore school. I found myself getting my pre-firstdayofschool haircut out of habit…

Am I really letting myself go cold turkey from school addiction?  No.  I am auditing a class at Multnomah, my alma mater.  Alumni get one free audit per year.  I am absolutely loving it.

I would not trade staying at home with my Eli for all the school in the world, but today,on the first day of school, I can’t help but remember my good friend Rosie, who is taking over my classroom, and all those fresh, freaked out faces, and the absolute chaos that is the first day of school.  I know this is the right thing to do because God has given me an absolute peace about being a mom.  It’s the first time since I was FIVE that I haven’t gone back to school and I’m OK with it?  That can only be God.

2 responses to “Back to school (or not)…

  1. I wish I loved school as much as you do, Annie! But honestly, I’m THRILLED I’m not in school!! 🙂 I love to learn, but hate the classroom. 😛 But like you, I find absolute peace & contentment in being a stay-at-home “mum”! 🙂

  2. I miss school some days. I like the syllibi and the new notebooks. I don’t miss the $ spent on college text books or the homework.
    I am so glad that you are happy at home. It is a privilage.

Leave a Reply

