A keeper…

It has been my experience that most parenting books give you just enough information to make you mad.  It’s like they are dumbed down.  I found Babywise  and Secrets of the Baby Whisperer hard to implement.  Finally I found a book on sleep that I can sink my teeth into.  It not only gives the how but the WHY.  It often explains both sides of an issue and isn’t particularly one sided, although it does focus on sleep training.  The chapters are broken down into ages, going through adolescence!  So far I’ve read the birth through four month chapter.  Sleep is going much better for us now that I have the information I need.

One response to “A keeper…

  1. I agree, I love this book! It was recommended to me by a friend who said it helped balance “Babywise.” Although I don’t think it differs greatly in method to “Babywise” I like that it explains things better and gives you options. I also like the fact that it’s a little “gentler” in tone and you ease into things. The author makes me feel better because he admits it’s hard to walk away from a crying baby after you lay him down for a nap, and gives more information on how long to let him cry, etc. I’ve read the same chapter you’ve read, along with the invaluable section in the back on twins.

Leave a Reply

